ICY BOX - Create your workspace.
PRODUCTS
SUPPORT
BLOG
ABOUT
Languages

Technology

Technologies

Here you can learn more about technologies that are still well established in the IT sector, about state-of-the-art technology, about new trends and outlooks.

4K technology

A 4K display offers a razor-sharp picture, as it uses 4x Full HD resolution. The 4K technology is also known as Ultra HD. However, here a further distinction is made between 4K UHD (2160p) and 8K UHD (4320p). The latter represents an additional doubling of the resolution compared to 4K.

Compared to a Full HD display with a resolution of 1920x1080 pixels, a 4K display offers a picture resolution of 3840x2160, which means twice as many pixels both in height and width. To connect 4K TV sets and monitors and to transfer video files and films appropriately, there are the HDMI® or DisplayPort™ interfaces.

DockingStation with DisplayLink® technology

With DisplayLink®, you can quickly and easily connect multiple monitors to your PC via a simple USB connection if your computer has DisplayLink® driver software installed for communication between the DockingStation and host computer.
All your USB devices from USB 3.0 are fully supported. The DockingStation can also be used with a USB 3.0 Type-C® port using an appropriate adapter. Ensure that you have installed the latest USB drivers and the latest DisplayLink® drivers.
Up to 6 monitors are possible under Windows®. Under macOS® 4 monitors are possible. Attention: Apple devices with the operating system macOS® 10.13.4 are not supported! From macOS® 10.13.5 and higher the operation of the DockingStation is again possible without restrictions!

USB Type-C®

USB Type-C® (also USB-C) is a 24-pole USB plug system which is characterised by its double rotationally symmetrical plug. One of the aims of the introduction of USB Type-C® was to standardise the large number of different structural USB interfaces on computers, tablets and smartphones.
A device with a Type-C® connector does not necessarily implement the full USB protocol with bidirectional data communication and USB power supply. Similarly, it cannot always be assumed that PCs, notebooks or tablets with a USB Type-C® interface also support DisplayPort™ Alt Mode technology. In any case, the specifications of the corresponding manual must be consulted.
For example, if one considers the USB Type-C® 3.2 (Gen 2x2) protocol, a data transfer rate of up to 20 Gbit/s is possible, for example, loading a notebook, connecting two displays or listening to music. Devices with Thunderbolt™ 3 can also be connected, although the data transfer rate is then limited by USB Type-C® 3.2 (Gen 2x2).

Thunderbolt™ 3

Technically, it is a combination of DisplayPort™ and a PCI Express based interface, which as a physical feature connects the rotatable USB Type-C® connector to the maximum version of the USB 3.1 specification and increases the transfer rate up to 40 Gbit/s. The interface is intended to bundle all image, sound, energy and data transmission channels in one interface, and also allows long ranges thanks to the active interfaces with optical transmission.

Multi Stream Transport (MST)

Support for Multi Stream Transport (MST) was added with DisplayPort™ 1.2. It enables the source system to send multiple independent video signals from a single DisplayPort™ 1.2 output. This allows multiple monitors to be used via a single DisplayPort™ connector or output. This feature requires either monitors capable of supporting DisplayPort™ 1.2 daisy chain or use of an DisplayPort™ MST hub.
MST hubs are sometimes called MST splitters or DisplayPort™ splitters.

Multi LUN

When we talk about card readers that support multi-LUN, it means that two cards can be used simultaneously (read and write), whereas with single-LUN support only one card can be used at a time.

RAID

The acronym RAID stands for Redundant Array of Independent Disks. A RAID system is used to organise several physical mass storage devices (usually hard disk drives or SSDs) into one logical drive, which allows a higher level of reliability or data throughput than a single physical storage medium.
While most techniques and applications used in computers aim to avoid redundancies (in the form of multiple occurrences of the same data), RAID systems deliberately create redundant information so that if individual storage media fail, the RAID as a whole retains its integrity and functionality and the original state can be restored after replacing the failed component with a rebuild (the process of restoring a RAID array). This redundancy must not be equated with a data backup.

Write protection

Many of our external ICY BOX hard disk enclosures are equipped with a write protection. This is realised in the form of a mechanical switch, which protects data from unauthorised access or deletion in the secured state.

Power supply

Power Delivery is the power supply via the USB interface. Via the cable connections, the USB port supplies power to simple devices such as a mouse or keyboard. Depending on the standard of the interface the power ranges from 500 mW (USB 1.1) over 2.5 W (USB 2.0) to 7.5 W (USB Battery Charging BC). Unfortunately this is usually not enough to supply USB devices with sufficient power. That's why many USB ports are operated outside the permissible power values.

To solve these power supply problems, USB Power Delivery (USB-PD) is a USB power supply specification. This allows a device to be supplied with up to 100 Watts of power via a USB Type-C® connector, for example to charge a notebook. The interesting thing about PD is the protocol in which the electronically marked (active) cables negotiate how much power can be transmitted via the cable. This means that the source provides the receiver with the possible voltage and current values. The receiver selects one of these and requests it from the source. Only then does the source switch the voltage to the corresponding pins. In principle, sources may also supply values other than those specified in the USB-PD specification. But maximum only 5 Ampere at 20 Volt, so maximum 100 Watt (e.g. required for workstations, large notebooks, DockingStations).

PRODUKTE
SUPPORT
BLOG
ÜBER UNS
Sprachen

Technologie

Technologien

Hier erfahren Sie mehr über Technologien, die sich im IT-Bereich fest etabliert haben, über State of the Art Technologien, über neue Trends und Ausblicke.

4K Technologie

Ein 4K Display bietet ein gestochen scharfes Bild, da hier die 4-fache Full HD Auflösung zum Einsatz kommt. Die 4K Technik ist auch bekannt unter der Bezeichnung Ultra HD. Hier wird jedoch weiter zwischen 4K UHD (2160p) und 8K UHD (4320p) unterschieden. Letzteres stellt eine zusätzliche Verdoppelung der Auflösung im Vergleich zu 4K dar.

Im Vergleich zu einem Full HD Display mit einer Auflösung von 1920x1080 Bildpunkten bietet ein 4K Display eine Bildauflösung von 3840x2160 und damit doppelt so viele Pixel sowohl in der Höhe als auch in der Breite. Um 4K TV-Geräte und Monitore anzuschließen und Videodateien und Filme angemessen zu übertragen, gibt es die HDMI® oder DisplayPort™ Schnittstellen.

DockingStation mit DisplayLink® Technologie

Mit DisplayLink® können Sie schnell und einfach mehrere Monitore über eine einfache USB-Verbindung an Ihren PC anschließen, wenn auf Ihrem Computer die DisplayLink® Treiber-Software für die Kommunikation zwischen DockingStation und Hostcomputer installiert ist.
Alle Ihre USB Geräte ab USB 3.0 werden vollständig unterstützt. Mit einem entsprechenden Adapter kann die DockingStation auch an einem USB 3.0 Type-C® Anschluss betrieben werden. Achten Sie darauf, dass Sie die neuesten USB Treiber sowie die neuesten DisplayLink® Treiber installiert haben.
Unter Windows® sind bis zu 6 Monitore möglich. Unter macOS® sind 4 Monitore möglich. Achtung: Apple Geräte mit dem Betriebssystem macOS® 10.13.4 werden nicht unterstützt! Ab macOS® 10.13.5 und höher ist der Betrieb der DockingStation wieder uneingeschränkt möglich!

USB Type-C®

USB Type-C® (auch USB-C®) ist ein 24-poliges USB-Stecksystem, das sich durch seinen zweifachen rotationssymmetrischen Stecker auszeichnet. Ziel der Einführung von USB Type-C® war u.A. die Vereinheitlichung der Vielzahl an unterschiedlichen baulichen USB Schnittstellen an Computern, Tablets und Smartphones.
Ein Gerät mit einem Type-C® Anschluss implementiert übrigens nicht unbedingt das volle USB Protokoll mit bidirektionaler Datenkommunikation und USB Stromversorgung. Ebenso kann man nicht immer davon ausgehen, dass PCs, Notebooks oder Tablets mit USB Type-C® Schnittstelle auch die DisplayPort™ Alt Mode Technologie unterstützen. Hierfür müssen in jedem Fall die Spezifikationen des entsprechenden Handbuchs herangezogen werden.
Betrachtet man zum Beispiel das Protokoll USB Type-C® 3.2 (Gen 2), so sind etwa eine Datenübertragungsrate von bis zu 10 Gbit/s möglich, das Laden eines Notebooks, das Anschließen von zwei Displays oder Musik hören. Ebenfalls können Geräte mit Thunderbolt™ 3 angeschlossen werden, wenngleich die Datenübertragungsrate dann durch USB Type-C® 3.2 (Gen 2) beschränkt wird.

Thunderbolt™ 3

Technisch gesehen handelt es sich um eine Kombination aus DisplayPort™ und einer auf PCI Express basierenden Schnittstelle, die als physisches Merkmal den drehbaren USB Type-C® Stecker mit der Maximalversion der USB 3.1 Spezifikation verbindet und die Übertragungsrate auf bis zu 40 Gbit/s erhöht. Die Schnittstelle soll dazu dienen, alle Bild-, Ton-, Energie- und Datenübertragungskanäle in einer Schnittstelle zu bündeln, und erlaubt durch die aktiven Schnittstellen mit optischer Übertragung auch große Reichweiten.

Multi Stream Transport (MST)

Mit DisplayPort™ 1.2 wurde die Unterstützung für Multi Stream Transport (MST) hinzugefügt. Es ermöglicht dem Quellsystem mehrere unabhängige Video-Signale über einen einzigen DisplayPort™ 1.2 Ausgang zu senden. Dies ermöglicht die Verwendung mehrerer Monitore über einen einzigen DisplayPort™ Stecker / -Ausgang. Diese Funktion erfordert entweder Monitore, die in der Lage sind, DisplayPort™ 1.2 Daisy Chain zu unterstützen oder Verwendung eines DisplayPort™ MST Hubs.
MST-Hubs werden manchmal auch MST-Splitter oder DisplayPort™ Splitter genannt.

Multi LUN

Wenn wir von Kartenlesern sprechen, die Multi-LUN unterstützen, dann bedeutet dies, dass zwei Karten gleichzeitig genutzt (lesen/schreiben) werden können, während bei Single-LUN Unterstützung immer nur eine Karte zurzeit betrieben werden kann.

RAID

Das Akronym RAID steht für Redundant Array of Independent Disks. Ein RAID-System dient zur Organisation mehrerer physischer Massenspeicher (üblicherweise Festplattenlaufwerke oder SSDs) zu einem logischen Laufwerk, das eine höhere Ausfallsicherheit oder einen größeren Datendurchsatz erlaubt als ein einzelnes physisches Speichermedium.
Während die meisten in Computern verwendeten Techniken und Anwendungen darauf abzielen, Redundanzen (in Form von mehrfachem Vorkommen derselben Daten) zu vermeiden, werden bei RAID-Systemen redundante Informationen gezielt erzeugt, damit beim Ausfall einzelner Speichermedien das RAID als Ganzes seine Integrität und Funktionalität behält und nach Ersetzen der ausgefallenen Komponente durch einen Rebuild (Wiederherstellungsprozess eines RAID-Verbundes) der ursprüngliche Zustand wiederhergestellt werden kann. Diese Redundanz darf keinesfalls mit einer Datensicherung gleichgesetzt werden.

Schreibschutz

Viele unserer externen ICY BOX Festplattengehäuse sind mit einem Schreibschutz versehen. Dies ist in Form eines mechanischen Schalters realisiert, der im gesicherten Zustand Daten vor unerlaubtem Zugriff oder vor dem Löschen schützt.

Stromversorgung

Power Delivery ist die Stromversorgung über die USB Schnittstelle. Über die Kabelverbindungen versorgt der USB einfache Geräte, wie Maus oder Tastatur mit Strom. Abhängig vom Standard der Schnittstelle reicht die Leistung von 500 mW (USB 1.1) über 2,5 W (USB 2.0) bis 7,5 Watt (USB Battery Charging BC). Leider ist das in der Regel zu wenig, um USB-Geräte mit ausreichend Strom zu versorgen. Deshalb werden viele USB-Ports außerhalb der zulässigen Leistungswerte betrieben.

Um die bei der Stromversorgung auftretenden Probleme zu lösen, wurde mit USB Power Delivery (USB-PD) eine Spezifikation zur Stromversorgung über den USB herausgebracht. So kann man einem Gerät über eine USB Type-C® Steckverbindung bis zu 100 Watt Leistung liefern, um zum Beispiel ein Notebook zu laden. Das Interessante an PD ist das Protokoll, bei dem die elektronisch markierten (aktiven) Kabel aushandeln, wie viel Strom über das Kabel übertragen werden darf. Das heißt, die Quelle liefert dem Verbraucher die möglichen Spannungs- und Stromwerte. Der Verbraucher sucht sich davon etwas aus und fordert das von der Quelle an. Erst dann schaltet die Quelle die Spannung auf die entsprechenden Pins. Grundsätzlich dürfen Quellen auch andere Werte, als die in der USB-PD-Spezifikation angegebenen Werte liefern. Aber maximal nur 5 Ampere bei 20 Volt, also maximal 100 Watt (z.B. benötigt für Workstations, große Notebooks, DockingStations).