ICY BOX - Create your workspace.
PRODUCTS
SUPPORT
BLOG
ABOUT
Languages

Enclosure for 1x NVMe
with USB 3.2 (Gen 2x2) Type-C® and Type-A interface

IB-1916M-C32

Ask Question
Cardreader
Cardreader

High-grade aluminum enclosure for M.2 NVMe

USB-C
USB-C

Interface to host computer: USB 3.2 (Gen 2x2) Type-C® - up to 20 Gbit/s

USB
USB

USB Type-A cable for backward compatibility to USB 3.1/3.0/2.0

Heatsink
Heatsink

Innovative heat sink design with additional copper heat sink and silicone thermal pad for optimal passive cooling

LED
LED

LED for power and access

USB 3.2 (Gen 2x2)

USB 3.2 (Gen 2x2)

Motherboards and external enclosures that support USB 20 Gbps ports are gaining ground even before the new USB 4 standard becomes widely available. If you are keeping up with the times, all your hard drives will seem lazy now, because the new ICY BOX M.2 NVMe enclosure is faster and more versatile than ever before!

Perfect Symbiosis

Perfect Symbiosis

USB 3.2 (Gen 2x2)-capable connections on computers are far from being standard, even though some of the latest generations of desktop motherboards already have them. This makes it all the more important to pay attention to the new USB specification. If you want to be a technology pioneer, you will be surprised by the incredible data transfer rates of the IB-1916M-C32 and use the perfect combination with our IB-PCI1901-C32 expansion card!

Two for All

Two for All

Compare the contents of the package with the specific connections of your PC. If you only have USB 3.0 Type-A capable connections, the IB-1916M-C32 can still be connected and used but only a connection via USB 3.2 (Gen 2x2) will reach the full transfer rate.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS

Technical Data
Model IB-1916M-C32
Article No. 60729
EAN Code 4250078170655
Brand ICY BOX
Category M.2 enclosure
Color Black
Material Aluminum, steel, acrylic
Internal interface M.2 M-Key PCIe x4 (NVMe)
Host connector USB 3.2 (Gen 2x2) Type-C® or USB Type-A
Transfer rate Up to 20 Gbit/s
M.2 SSD size 22x 80 mm
Operating system Windows®, macOS®
Power connector Via USB
Logistical Data
Packing unit 40 pcs./carton
Total weight 11.4 kg
Gross weight (incl. packing) 0.269 kg
Net weight 0.138 kg
Dimension/carton 450x225x400 mm
Dimension of packing box 100x35x200 mm
Dimension of article 110x45x19 mm
Country of origin China

DOCUMENTS

Data Sheet
IB-1916M-C32
DOWNLOAD
Manual
IB-1916M-C32
DOWNLOAD

FAQ

What is M.2?
M.2 is a specification for internal expansion cards and was introduced under the name NGFF (Next Generation Form Factor), but then officially renamed M.2. This standard is particularly suitable for compact and mobile devices such as notebooks and tablets, due to its small size and various dimensions. However, it can also be ideally used with an ICY BOX enclosure as external memory. M.2 SSDs are available in different versions. On the one hand there are different lengths of the SSDs and on the other hand two different protocols and interfaces which are used with M.2 SSDs. In addition, the M.2 SSDs can be connected via PCIe or with SATA.
Which form factors are available?
The size of a M.2 card is given by width x length in millimeters. If there is a form factor of 2280 (22x80), the card is 22 mm wide and 80 mm long. M.2 allows widths of 12, 16, 22 or 30 mm and lengths of 30, 42, 60, 80 or 110 mm. Mainly widths of 22 mm are used. The most common M.2 SSDs are offered in lengths of 42, 60 and 80 mm.

M.2 SSDs are rectangular and have a male connector on each short side and a small recess on the other side to fix the SSD to the corresponding slot with a screw. Depending on the storage capacity, the SSDs are available with single-sided or double-sided PCBs.
What are M.2 Keys?
There are one or two notches at specific points on the connector (male). The M.2 connections differ according to these recesses and therefore also according to the transmission standard used. This special arrangement of the recess then defines the corresponding key. The most common keys for M.2 SSDs are the B-Key, M-Key and the B+M-Key. The B-Key is used for SATA (AHCI) SSDs, but can also use PCIe 3.0 with two lanes. The M-Key supports PCIe 3.0 SSDs with NVMe and four PCIe 3.0 lanes. The B+M key supports both standards, similar to the B-Key. Here either SATA (AHCI) or PCIe 3.0 x2 with NVMe are possible.
Compatibility to the host computer
Make sure that your SSD supports the same connector/key (male) as the socket (female) in the enclosure or the expansion card supplied by ICY BOX. For example, if you are using a B+M-Key SATA SSD, make sure that the enclosure also has a B-Key socket. Please refer to the product description, data sheet or manual for more information.
Is an M.2 PCIe SSD with NVMe protocol faster than an M.2 SATA SSD with AHCI protocol?
Yes, the SATA interface theoretically achieves a data transfer rate of up to 6 G bit/s. The PCIe 3.0 x2 interface achieves a data transfer rate of up to 16 Gbit/s, PCIe 3.0 x4 up to 32 Gbit/s.
How do I know which M.2 SSD works with this device?
Although M.2 SSDs are available in similar form factors, only an M.2 PCIe NVMe drive with an M-Key or B+M-Key connector will work with this enclosure.
Check the specification of your M.2 SSD. If interface and protocol match, the combination of enclosure and SSD will work. For example PCIe (interface) and NVMe (protocol).
Is a special driver required?
No, because SATA and PCIe M.2 SSDs use the standard integrated AHCI drivers in the operating system. Also the NVMe protocol is supported from Windows® 8.1 and Windows 10®. Please check nonetheless that your drivers are up to date.
How do I install the SSD correctly?
•Make sure that the socket and your SSD are compatible. (e.g. M.2 M-Key socket and M.2 M-Key PCIe NVMe SSD) Carefully insert the SSD into the socket at an angle of about 30 degrees.
•Make sure that the socket and the SSD fit together perfectly and without resistance (tongue and groove principle).
•Now carefully push the SSD down onto the PCB and fix the SSD with the included screw.
•If you use a heat sink, place the heat pad on the heat sink and place both now on the SSD.
•Make sure that the heat pad and the heat sink do not protrude over the SSD.
How do I activate write protection? (Not all enclosures are equipped with a write protection switch.)
• Disconnect the enclosure from the host computer.
• Use the supplied tool to slide the write protection switch to the left, in direction of the closed lock.
• Then reconnect the enclosure to your host computer.
• The write protection is now activated. This is indicated by the red status LED.
Can the enclosure also be connected to USB 3.0 or USB 2.0 ports?
Yes, this is possible. Please note however, that the data transfer rates are much lower in this case.
The enclosure becomes warm during use.
A slight heating up of the enclosure, especially when writing and reading data, is completely normal. The enclosure is designed for passive cooling of the SSD. Especially PCIe NVMe SSD enclosures can get higher temperatures.
How to cool my SSD?
Basically, all ICY BOX enclosures are able to transfer heat passively to the outside via the enclosure. Both via the material (aluminium), which is very heat conductive, as well as via integrated cooling fins on the enclosure, which increase the surface area of the enclosure and thus achieve improved heat dissipation. If your SSD is used internally, it is possible to mount the ICY BOX heat sinks on the SSD to improve heat dissipation and cool the SSD. Note, that the heat sink requires space that may be limited in your system.
What happens if I plug an M.2 SSD PCIe 3.0 x4/NVMe into a port that only supports PCIe x2?
Basically the M.2 SSD will still work, but only with the data transfer rate of PCIe 3.0 x2 with a maximum of 16 Gbit/s instead of 32 Gbit/s.
Everything is connected, but no function.
To avoid possible problems, there are some quick tests that you can perform. You can test if the following components work correctly and are not the cause of the problem:
• Cables
• SSD
• Enclosure
To test your components, follow the steps below:
• Use the cables, SSD and enclosures in a different configuration to see if the problem with the components in another configuration persists.
• Use a different cable, SSD and enclosure one after the other to see if the problem persists. Ideally, you should test a component that you know works in a different setup.
The SSD is not recognized by the operating system.
• Drives must be initialized and have to have active partitions so that they are immediately recognized as data media in the operating system. If this is not the case, initialize the drives in the disk management of your operating system.
• Please check if the driver software is installed (USB).
• Sometimes it is possible that the M.2 SSD slot has to share the PCIe lanes with other devices. In this case one of the interfaces may be deactivated. Please refer to the documentation of your motherboard and activate the M.2 SSD in the BIOS mode.
My Samsung 970 EVO Plus is not recognized.
It is possible that the Samsung 970 EVO Plus has an outdated firmware and therefore cannot be recognized by the device. In this case, please update the firmware of the Samsung 970 EVO Plus first. After successfully updating the firmware, please test again whether the SSD is recognized.
You can update the firmware using the Samsung "Samsung Magician" tool.

Tell us a bit about yourself and area of interest and someone will reach out as soon as possible to discuss pricing options based on your requirements.


Article number: IB-1916M-C32

* Mandatory

SKU: IB-1916M-C32


Success

ICY BOX - Create your workspace.
  • SERVICE HOTLINE +49 4102 4689 50
  • Kontakt
PRODUKTE
SUPPORT
BLOG
ÜBER UNS
Sprachen

Gehäuse für 1x NVMe
mit USB 3.2 (Gen 2x2) Type-C® und Type-A Anschluss

IB-1916M-C32

Wir helfen gerne.
Cardreader
Cardreader

Gehäuse für M.2 NVMe - M-Key Sockel, größe 22x 80 mm

USB-C
USB-C

Unterstützt USB 3.2 (Gen 2x2) Type-C® - mit bis zu 20 Gbit pro Sekunde

USB
USB

USB Type-A Kabel ist abwärtskompatibel zu USB 3.1/3.0/2.0

Heatsink
Heatsink

Innovatives Kühlrippendesign, Kupferkühlkörper und Silikonwärmeleitpad sorgen für optimale passive Kühlung

LED
LED

LED für Betrieb und Zugriff

USB 3.2 (Gen 2x2)

USB 3.2 (Gen 2x2)

Motherboards und externe Gehäuse, die USB 20 Gbit/s Anschlüsse unterstützen, sind auf dem Vormarsch noch vor der Verbreitung des neuen USB4 Standards. Wer mit der Zeit geht entsorgt jetzt sein träges Festplattengehäuse, denn das neue ICY BOX M.2 NVMe-Gehäuse ist schneller und vielseitiger als je zuvor!

Gelungene Symbiose

Gelungene Symbiose

USB 3.2 (Gen 2x2)-fähige Anschlüsse an Computern sind längst noch kein Standard, auch wenn einige Desktop-Motherboards der neuesten Generation sie bereits vorweisen können. Umso wichtiger ist es, auf die neue USB-Spezifikation zu achten. Wer Technik-Vorreiter sein will, lässt sich von den unglaublichen Datenübertragungsraten der IB-1916M-C32 Gehäuselösung überraschen und nutzt die perfekte Kombination mit unserer IB-PCI1901-C32 Erweiterungskarte!

Alle Kabel an Bord

Alle Kabel an Bord

Vergleichen Sie den Verpackungsinhalt mit den spezifischen Anschlüssen Ihres PCs. Sollten Sie lediglich über USB 3.0 Typ-A-fähige Anschlüsse verfügen, kann die IB-1916M-C32 trotzdem mit dem beiliegenden Kabel verwendet werden. Allerdings erreicht nur eine Verbindung über USB 3.2 (Gen 2x2) die volle Transferrate.

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen

EIGENSCHAFTEN

Technische Daten
Modell IB-1916M-C32
Artikelnummer 60729
EAN Code 4250078170655
Marke ICY BOX
Kategorie M.2 enclosure
Farbe Schwarz
Material Aluminium, Stahl, Acryl
Interne Schnittstelle M.2 M-Key PCIe x4 (NVMe)
Externe Schnittstelle USB 3.2 (Gen 2x2) Type-C®
Übertragungsrate Bis zu 20 Gbit/s
M.2 SSD Format 22x 80 mm
Betriebssystem Windows®, macOS®
Stromverbindung Über USB
Logistische Daten
Verpackungseinheit 40 pcs./carton
Gesamtgewicht 11,4 kg
Bruttogewicht (mit Verp.) 0,269 kg
Nettogewicht 0,138 kg
Abmessung/Karton 450x225x400 mm
Abmessung (mit Verp.) 100x35x200 mm
Abmessung vom Artikel 110x45x19 mm
Ursprungsland China

DOKUMENTE

Datenblatt
IB-1916M-C32
DOWNLOAD
Handbuch
IB-1916M-C32
DOWNLOAD

FAQ

Was ist M.2?
M.2 ist eine Spezifikation für interne Erweiterungskarten und wurde unter der Bezeichnung NGFF (Next Generation Form Factor) eingeführt, dann aber offiziell in M.2 umbenannt. Besonders für kompakte und mobile Geräte wie Notebooks und Tablets bietet sich dieser Standard an, aufgrund der kleinen Bauform und verschiedener Abmessungen. Er kann aber auch ideal mit einem ICY BOX Gehäuse als externer Speicher genutzt werden. M.2 SSDs gibt es in verschiedenen Varianten. Zum einen gibt es verschiedene Längen der SSDs und zum anderen zwei verschiedene Protokolle und Schnittstellen, die bei M.2 SSDs zum Einsatz kommen. Außerdem können die M.2 SSDs über PCIe oder auch mit SATA angebunden werden.
Welche Formfaktoren gibt es?
Die Größe einer M.2 Karte wird durch Breite x Länge in Millimeter angegeben. Spricht man von einem Formfaktor 2280 (22x80), dann ist die Karte 22 mm breit und 80 mm lang. M.2 erlaubt Breiten von 12, 16, 22 oder 30 mm und Längen von 30, 42, 60, 80 oder 110 mm. Hauptsächlich werden Breiten von 22 mm verwendet. Die gängigsten M.2 SSDs werden mit einer Länge von 42, 60 und 80 mm angeboten.
M.2 SSDs sind Rechteckig und besitzen auf den Kurzen Seiten jeweils einen Anschluss (männlich) und auf der anderen Seite eine kleine Aussparung, um die SSD auf den entsprechenden Steckplatz mit einer Schraube zu fixieren. Die SSDs gibt es, je nach Speicherkapazität, mit einseitig oder beidseitig bestückten Platinen.
Was sind M.2 Keys?
An bestimmten Stellen des Anschlusses gibt es eine oder zwei Aussparungen. Die M.2 Anschlüsse unterscheiden sich nach diesen Ausparungen und somit meist auch nach dem verwendeten Übertragungsstandard. diese spezielle Anordnung der Aussparung definiert dann den entsprechenden Key. Die gägnigsten Keys sind der B-Key, M-Key und der B+M-Key. Der B-Key wird für SATA SSDs verwendet, kann aber auch PCIe 3.0 mit zwei Lanes verwenden. Der M-Key unterstützt PCIe 3.0 SSDs mit NVMe und vier PCIe 3.0 Lanes. Der B+M-Key unterstützt beide Standards, ähnlich wie der B-Key. Hier sind entweder SATA (AHCI) oder PCIe 3.0 x2 mit NVMe möglich.
Kompatibilität zum Hostcomputer
Achten Sie darauf, dass Ihre SSD den gleichen Key unterstützt wie der von ICY BOX gelieferte Sockel im Gehäuse oder die Erweiterungskarte. Sollten Sie beispielsweise eine B+M-Key SATA SSD verwenden, achten Sie darauf, dass das Gehäuse einen B-Key Sockel liefert. Entsprechende Informationen finden Sie in der Produktbeschreibung, im Datenblatt oder Handbuch.
Ist eine M.2 PCIe SSD mit NVMe Protokoll schneller als M.2 SATA SSD mit AHCI Protokoll?
Ja. Die SATA Schnittstelle erreicht theoretisch eine Datentransferrate von bis zu 6 Gbit/s. Die PCIe 3.0 x2 Schnittstelle erreicht eine Datentransferrate von bis zu 16 Gbit/s, PCIe 3.0 x4 bis zu 32 Gbit/s.
Woher weiß ich, welche M.2 SSD in diesem Gerät funktionieren?
Obwohl M.2 SSDs in ähnlichen Formfaktoren erhältlich sind, funktioniert mit diesem Gehäuse nur ein M.2 PCIe NVMe mit einem M-Key oder B+M-Key Anschluss.
Überprüfen Sie die Spezifikation Ihrer M.2 SSD. Stimmen Schnittstelle und Protokoll überein, funktioniert die Kombination aus Gehäuse und SSD. Beispielsweise PCIe (Schnittstelle) und NVMe (Protokoll).
Wird ein spezieller Treiber benötigt?
Nein, da SATA und PCIe M.2 SSDs die standardmäßig integrierten AHCI-Treiber im Betriebssystem verwenden. Genauso wird auch das NVMe Protokoll standardmäßig ab Windows® 8.1 unterstützt. Überprüfen Sie idealerweise trotzdem, ob Ihre Treiber auf dem neuesten Stand sind.
Wie baue ich die SSD richtig ein?
• Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sockel und Ihre SSD kompatibel sind. (z.B. M.2 M-Key Sockel und M.2 M-Key PCIe NVMe SSD)
• Setzen Sie die SSD vorsichtig mit einem Winkel von ca. 30 Grad in den Sockel ein. Achten Sie darauf, dass Sockel und SSD perfekt und ohne Widerstand ineinander passen (Prinzip: Nut und Feder).
• Drücken Sie nun die SSD vorsichtig auf die Platine herunter und fixieren Sie die SSD mit der beiliegenden Schraube.
• Sollten Sie einen Kühlkörper verwenden, platzieren Sie das Wärmeleitpad auf den Kühlkörper und setzen nun dieses auf die SSD auf. Achten Sie dabei genau darauf, dass das Wärmeleitpad und der Kühlkörper nicht über die SSD hinausragen.
Wie aktiviere Ich den Schreibschutz? (Nicht alle Gehäuse verfügen über einen Schreibschutzschalter.)
• Enfernen Sie das Gehäuse vom Hostcomputer.
• Schieben Sie mithilfe des mitgelieferten Werkzeugs den Schreibschutzschalter nach links, in Richtung des geschlossenen Schlosses.
• Schließen Sie anschließend das Gehäuse an Ihren Hostcomputer an.
• Der Schreibschutz ist nun aktiviert. Erkennen können Sie dies an der rot aufleuchtenden Status LED.
Kann das Gehäuse auch an USB 3.0 oder USB 2.0 Ports angeschlossen werden?
Ja, das ist möglich. Beachten Sie allerdings, dass die Datentransferraten in diesem Fall deutlich geringer sind.
Das Gehäuse wird während des Betriebs warm.
Ein leichtes Aufheizen des Gehäuses, insbesondere beim Schreiben und Lesen von Daten, ist völlig normal. Das Gehäuse dient auch dazu, die SSD passiv zu kühlen. Besonders bei Gehäusen für PCIe NVMe SSDs können höhere Temperaturen entstehen.
Wie kann ich meine SSD kühlen?
Grundsätzlich sind alle Gehäuse von ICY BOX in der Lage, die Wärme passiv über das Gehäuse nach außen abzugeben. Sowohl über das Material (Aluminium), das sehr wärmeleitfähig ist, als auch über integrierte Kühlrippen am Gehäuse, die die Oberfläche des Gehäuses vergrößern und somit eine verbesserte Wärmeableitung erzeugen.
Bei interner Verwendung Ihrer SSD besteht die Möglichkeit, die ICY BOX Kühlkörper auf der SSD zu montieren, um auf diesem Weg die Wärmeableitung zu verbessern und die SSD zu kühlen. Beachten Sie dabei, das der Kühlkörper Platz benötigt, der in Ihrem System möglicherweise beschränkt ist.
Was passiert, wenn ich eine M.2 SSD PCIe 3.0 x4/NVMe an einen Anschluss anschließe, der nur PCIe x2 unterstützt?
Grundsätzlich wird die M.2 SSD trotzdem funktionieren, allerdings nur mit der Datentransferrate von PCIe 3.0 x2 mit maximal 16 Gbit/s statt 32 Gbit/s.
Alles ist angeschlossen, doch keine Funktion.
Um mögliche Probleme auszuschließen, gibt es einige Schnelltests, die Sie durchführen können. Sie können testen, ob die folgenden Komponenten korrekt funktionieren und nicht die Ursache des Problems sind:
• Kabel
• SSD
• Festplattengehäuse
Um Ihre Komponenten zu testen, gehen Sie wie folgt vor:
• Verwenden Sie die Kabel, Festplatten und Festplattengehäuse in einer anderen Konfiguration, um zu sehen, ob das Problem mit den Komponenten oder der Konfiguration weiterhin besteht.
• Verwenden Sie in Ihrem Setup nacheinander ein anderes Kabel, eine andere SSD und Festplattengehäuse, um zu sehen, ob das Problem weiterhin besteht. Im Idealfall sollten Sie eine Komponente testen, von der Sie wissen, dass sie in einem anderen Setup funktioniert.
Die SSD wird vom Betriebssystem nicht erkannt.
• Laufwerke müssen initialisiert sein und aktive Partitionen besitzen, damit diese sofort als Datenträger im Betriebssystem erkannt werden. Falls dies nicht der Fall sein sollte, initialisieren Sie die Laufwerke in der Datenträgerverwaltung Ihres Betriebssystems.
• Überprüfen Sie bitte, ob die Treibersoftware installiert ist (USB).
• Manchmal kann es vorkommen, dass der M.2 SSD Steckplatz die PCIe Lanes mit anderen Geräten teilen muss. Unter Umständen deaktiviert sich dann bei der gemeinsamen Verwendung eine der Schnittstellen. Bitte informieren Sie sich in der Dokumentation zu Ihrem Motherboard und aktivieren Sie die M.2 SSD im BIOS Modus.
Meine Samsung 970 EVO Plus wird nicht erkannt.
Unter Umständen kann es sein, dass die Samsung 970 EVO Plus eine veraltete Firmware besitzt und daher nicht vom Gerät erkannt werden kann. In diesem Fall bitten wir Sie, zunächst die Firmware der Samsung 970 EVO Plus zu aktualisieren. Testen Sie nach erfolgreichem Firmwareupdate erneut, ob die SSD erkannt wird.
Das Firmwareupdate können Sie mit Hilfe des Samsung "Samsung Magician" Tools ausführen.

Erzählen Sie uns gern ein wenig über sich und Ihr Anliegen. Wir werden uns schnellstmöglich mit Ihnen in Verbindung setzen, um die Preisgestaltung entsprechend Ihren Wünschen zu besprechen.


Artikelnummer: IB-1916M-C32

* Pflichtfeld

SKU: IB-1916M-C32


Success